Wooster Home Page
Wooster Home Page
Home | Search | Site Index | Site Map | Directories
Libraries
Wooster Menu Bar Future Students Alumni & Friends Faculty & Staff Families & Visitors Wooster Students
Libraries Home
About the Libraries
Articles & Research
Books, etc.
Services
What's Happening?
Library Quick Links
Google
Access Resources Off-Campus
Ask a Librarian
Check My Library Record
CONSORT · Media Catalog
ERes Electronic Reserves
Hours · Staff
ILLiad ILL Form
Reference Consultation Form
Science Library

For more information, contact:

The College of Wooster Libraries
1140 Beall Avenue
Wooster, Ohio  44691
Phone: 330-263-2442
FAX: 330-263-2253
E-Mail Staff

Database Information

  • Database title:

    Communication and Mass Media Complete

  • Coverage:

    Starting date of journal indexing varies with each journal, some going back to inception of the journal, others to the early 1990's, others to increase coverage over time. Current years fully covered.

  • Description:

    This database merges two databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). CommSearch offered bibliographic and keyword references to 26 journals in communication studies, with coverage extending to the inaugural issue of each -- some from as far back as the early decades of the 20th century. It also included cover-to-cover indices of NCA’s six journals (from their first editions to the present), and abstracts from their earliest appearance in NCA journals. Mass Media Articles Index provided citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks in the area of communications studies. In addition, EBSCO has expanded upon them (both in terms of content and scope) to create CMMC. In addition, Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles and contains citation coverage for additional sources.

Wooster Address Bar
Last updated: February 8, 2008
Suggestions