Wooster Home Page
Wooster Home Page
Home | Search | Site Index | Site Map | Directories
Libraries
Wooster Menu Bar Future Students Alumni & Friends Faculty & Staff Families & Visitors Wooster Students
Libraries Home
About the Libraries
Articles & Research
Books, etc.
Services
What's Happening?
Library Quick Links
Google
Access Resources Off-Campus
Ask a Librarian
Check My Library Record
CONSORT · Media Catalog
ERes Electronic Reserves
Hours · Staff
ILLiad ILL Form
Reference Consultation Form
Science Library

For more information, contact:

The College of Wooster Libraries
1140 Beall Avenue
Wooster, Ohio  44691
Phone: 330-263-2442
FAX: 330-263-2253
E-Mail Staff

Database Information

  • Database title:

    African American Biographical Database

  • Coverage:

    1800s and 1900s

  • Description:

    The African American Biographical Database(AABD) provides biographical sketches of African American activists, businesspeople, former slaves, performing artists, educators, lawyers, physicians, writers, church leaders, homemakers, religious workers, government workers,athletes, farmers, scientists, factory workers, and more -- both the famous and the everyday person. These biographical sketches have been carefully assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. It draws its initial content from Chadwyck-Healey's Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. Biographical portraits from newly uncovered dictionaries as well as from other published reference sources, obituary files, slave narrative collections, internet sites, etc. will be added as the database expands. Covers sources published in the 1800's and 1900's, many of which are not readily found in all libraries.

Wooster Address Bar
Last updated: February 8, 2008
Suggestions